The short version
- Entry, parking and the Visitor & Nature Center are free. The park opens at 5 am daily and closes at 9 pm from November 1 to April 30 and at 10 pm from May 1 to October 31. Details on is it free.
- It is a city park and a National Natural Landmark (1971), not a national park. The children of Charles Elliott Perkins gave the land to the city in 1909 on condition that it stay free to the public. More on is it a national park.
- The main walk is short and paved: the Perkins Central Garden Trail is 1.5 miles round trip with less than 30 ft of rise, and suits wheelchairs and strollers. The network adds more than 20 miles of trail; see the hiking trails.
- The Visitor Center lot has fewer than 200 spaces and often fills in summer and on holidays. A free summer shuttle loops through the park about every 15 minutes; details on parking and the shuttle.
- Early and late are the quieter hours: the park points to before about 8 am and after about 4 pm for light and thinner crowds, and summer afternoon storms can form within minutes. More on the best time to visit.
- The six tours differ in vehicle and reach: jeeps, a Segway, an e-bike, a 4-hour jeep tour up the Pikes Peak Highway and an 8.5-hour day from Denver. The choice is on which tour.
Free in the park, and what GetYourGuide sells
The park, its roads, trails and Visitor & Nature Center belong to the City of Colorado Springs; the Garden of the Gods Foundation, a nonprofit, runs the Visitor Center. The six GetYourGuide products are separate; each listing states free cancellation up to 24 hours before for a full refund, and start times show in the calendar of the booking widget.
Free, in the park
- Entry to the park, with no ticket, and parking in its lots, including an overflow lot across Gateway Road with a pedestrian tunnel to the Visitor Center
- The Visitor & Nature Center at 1805 N. 30th Street, with exhibits on geology, plants and animals, the Ute (Nuu-ciu) people and a replica of the park’s dinosaur skull; the Geo-Trekker film there has a fee
- The road loops, about 6 miles on Garden Drive and Juniper Way, at 20 mph, with paved bike lanes
- More than 20 miles of trail, from the paved Perkins Central Garden Trail to the rockier Scotsman and Buckskin Charlie trails
- The summer shuttle: two ADA-compliant 14-passenger vans on a loop, roughly Memorial Day weekend to late August plus Labor Day weekend in recent years (free summer shuttle page)
Booked on GetYourGuide
- Jeeps in Colorado Springs: the 2.5-hour Garden of the Gods and Foothills Jeep Tour and the 2-hour Luxury Jeep Tour, per their listings
- Other ways to ride: a 1.5-hour Segway tour from the Visitor Center and a 2-hour e-bike tour from Manitou Springs
- With Pikes Peak: a 4-hour jeep tour up the Pikes Peak Highway to the summit and then through the park, with highway fees included per its listing
- From Denver: an 8.5-hour small-group day to the park and the Pikes Peak summit, with lunch and entrance fees listed as included
- The current price shows in the booking widget of each product; this site sells nothing itself
A self-guided loop through the park
The park roads are one-way loops with paved bike lanes. The Garden Drive and Juniper Way loop is about 6 miles, the speed limit is 20 mph, and the stops below are the named places most drives and tours pass. The order depends on the loop taken.
Visit COS gives 20 to 30 minutes for a drive straight through and 90 minutes to 2 hours for a typical visit with walks. Off-trail travel is prohibited, so the stops below are reached on roads and marked trails; the full list is on the park rules page.
- Garden of the Gods Visitor & Nature Center: Opened in 1995 at 1805 N. 30th Street, free, with exhibits, a cafe, a gift shop and restrooms. Its lot has fewer than 200 spaces; the overflow lot sits across Gateway Road with a pedestrian tunnel. The Segway tour meets in front of the building, per its listing.
- North Gateway Rock and the Kissing Camels: The Kissing Camels formation sits on top of North Gateway Rock. The North Main Parking Lot (Lot 2) has restrooms opened in 2019. Climbers face a raptor-nesting closure on its east face, typically from April 1 to July 31.
- Perkins Central Garden Trail: A paved 1.5-mile round trip with less than 30 ft of rise, suited to wheelchairs and strollers, between tall fins of red sandstone. From the overflow lot, the Gateway and Central Garden route is 2.5 miles. The shuttle stops at the Central Garden.
- Siamese Twins Trail: A 1-mile round trip with less than 150 ft of rise, rated easy by the park, leading to a natural rock window that frames Pikes Peak.
- Scotsman Picnic Area: One of the named parking areas on the official park map, with a summer restroom. The Scotsman and Buckskin Charlie trails are rated moderate and rocky by the park.
- Balanced Rock: A boulder of Fountain Formation sandstone, reported at about 700 tons, beside the road with its own parking area. Photographer Paul Goerke owned the land around it until the city bought the property in 1932.
- Rock Ledge Ranch Historic Site: A city-owned living-history museum next to the park, covering 1775 to 1909, with a separate admission fee. The summer shuttle stops at its entrance.
- The south side and Manitou Springs: The Garden of the Gods Trading Post, founded in 1929, stands on Beckers Lane on the park’s south side, and Manitou Springs lies next to the south-west side. Mountain Metro Route 3 stops near the south side of the park; check Mountain Metro for the current route.
The loop without a tour is on the best way to see it, the timing on how long to drive through, and the lots and shuttle on parking and the shuttle.
How booking works
Decide what the tour should add
The park itself is free. The tours add a driver or a guide, commentary on geology, history and wildlife, a different pace, or places outside the park such as Helen Hunt Falls, Miramont Castle or the Pikes Peak summit. The cards below give each one’s duration and start point.
Pick a date in the widget
The widget shows live availability from GetYourGuide. Start times show in the calendar, and the current price shows in the widget.
Book with the listed cancellation terms
Each of the six listings states free cancellation up to 24 hours before the start for a full refund. The foothills jeep listing states no refunds for late arrivals, and the Pikes Peak jeep listing none for missed tours.
Meet at the listed start point
Next door to Rudy’s Hideaway Restaurant for the foothills jeep tour, next to Rudy’s Little Hideaway restaurant for the Pikes Peak jeep tour (arrive 15 minutes early), in front of the Visitor Center for the Segway tour, 306 Manitou Ave for the e-bike tour, and the Blue Bear sculpture outside the Colorado Convention Center for the Denver day. The luxury jeep tour shows its meeting points on the listing map.
Check dates for the Garden of the Gods and Foothills Jeep Tour
A 2.5-hour tour in open-air jeeps, limited to 6 participants, offered year-round according to its listing. The route runs through North Cheyenne Canyon to Helen Hunt Falls, along the old Shortline Railroad grade with its 100-year-old tunnels, through Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs, and into Garden of the Gods, on roads about 70% paved and 30% dirt. Bottled water is included, and the listing also lists hotel pickup and drop-off; confirm the arrangement when booking. Pick a date and live availability appears here; the current price shows in the widget.
Four ways through the park in under three hours
The foothills jeep tour, the luxury jeep tour, the Segway tour and the e-bike tour, one column each, from their listings. The Pikes Peak and Denver tours are set out with the rest on the tours page.
| Park and foothillsColorado Springs: Garden of the Gods and Foothills Jeep Tour | Colorado Springs: Garden of the Gods Luxury Jeep Tour | Colorado Springs: Garden of the Gods Segway Tour | Manitou Springs: Garden of the Gods E-Bike Tour | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duration | 2.5 hours | 2 hours | 1.5 hours | 2 hours |
| Start | Next door to Rudy’s Hideaway Restaurant; hotel pickup also listed | Two meeting points on the listing map | In front of the Visitor Center | 306 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs |
| Group | Limited to 6 | Private or small-group options | Limited to 5 | Up to 16 |
| Moving by | Open-air jeep | Jeep, with a walk on trails | Segway, after a safety orientation | Electric bike, after a briefing |
| In the park | Garden of the Gods as one stop on the loop | A drive with photo stops | Kissing Camels, Praying Hands, a park overlook | Bike paths and trails with stops |
| Beyond the park | Helen Hunt Falls, Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs | Not listed | Not listed | Miramont Castle, a mineral spring |
| Limits | Minimum 2 people; wheelchair access not stated | Not suitable for people with mobility impairments | Not for children under 12 or riders over 250 lb (113 kg) | Ages 13 to 80; not for non-cyclists |
| Included | Bottled water; hotel pickup listed | Water, Gatorade, a snack; pickup on private tours | Segway, helmet, orientation | E-bike, helmet, bottled water |
| Book this | Book this | Book this | Book this |
Park and foothillsColorado Springs: Garden of the Gods and Foothills Jeep Tour
- Duration
- 2.5 hours
- Start
- Next door to Rudy’s Hideaway Restaurant; hotel pickup also listed
- Group
- Limited to 6
- Moving by
- Open-air jeep
- In the park
- Garden of the Gods as one stop on the loop
- Beyond the park
- Helen Hunt Falls, Old Colorado City, Manitou Springs
- Limits
- Minimum 2 people; wheelchair access not stated
- Included
- Bottled water; hotel pickup listed
Colorado Springs: Garden of the Gods Luxury Jeep Tour
- Duration
- 2 hours
- Start
- Two meeting points on the listing map
- Group
- Private or small-group options
- Moving by
- Jeep, with a walk on trails
- In the park
- A drive with photo stops
- Beyond the park
- Not listed
- Limits
- Not suitable for people with mobility impairments
- Included
- Water, Gatorade, a snack; pickup on private tours
Colorado Springs: Garden of the Gods Segway Tour
- Duration
- 1.5 hours
- Start
- In front of the Visitor Center
- Group
- Limited to 5
- Moving by
- Segway, after a safety orientation
- In the park
- Kissing Camels, Praying Hands, a park overlook
- Beyond the park
- Not listed
- Limits
- Not for children under 12 or riders over 250 lb (113 kg)
- Included
- Segway, helmet, orientation
Manitou Springs: Garden of the Gods E-Bike Tour
- Duration
- 2 hours
- Start
- 306 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs
- Group
- Up to 16
- Moving by
- Electric bike, after a briefing
- In the park
- Bike paths and trails with stops
- Beyond the park
- Miramont Castle, a mineral spring
- Limits
- Ages 13 to 80; not for non-cyclists
- Included
- E-bike, helmet, bottled water
Photo gallery
Garden of the Gods in nine images
The Central Garden, three named formations, the rock window on the Siamese Twins Trail, a bighorn sheep, and the park at sunrise, at sunset and under snow.









The six Garden of the Gods tours
Two jeep tours of the park and foothills, a Segway tour, an e-bike tour, a jeep tour that adds the Pikes Peak Highway and a full day from Denver. Each card links to the live GetYourGuide listing, where the calendar and the current price appear; the listings each state free cancellation up to 24 hours before.
Max 6 guestsColorado Springs: Garden of the Gods and Foothills Jeep Tour
Private optionColorado Springs: Garden of the Gods Luxury Jeep Tour
Max 5 guestsColorado Springs: Garden of the Gods Segway Tour
E-bikeManitou Springs: Garden of the Gods E-Bike Tour
Pikes PeakPikes Peak and Garden of the Gods Jeep Tour
From DenverFrom Denver: Pikes Peak and Garden of the Gods Guided Tour
What travellers mention afterwards
Short paraphrased lines from travellers who booked these products, with the one each took.
Plenty of time to get out of the jeep for views and photos.
A good grounding in the history of the park.
A knowledgeable guide, with a wish for a few more photo stops.
The guide made sure everyone was comfortable on the bikes before setting off.
Stories, historical facts and views, from the summit down to the park.
An engaging guide, and scenery at both the park and the peak.
Paraphrased from travellers who booked through GetYourGuide. The six, close up ›
Four common mix-ups, corrected
Short answers to questions that trip up trip planners, with links to the full pages.
Is Garden of the Gods a national park?
No. It is a free city park, owned by the City of Colorado Springs since 1909, and a National Natural Landmark since 1971. Some trip planners call it “Garden of the Gods National Park”, which it is not. More on is it a national park.
Where does the name come from?
From surveyors in 1859. Rufus Cable, with M. S. Beach, is recorded as saying it was “a fit place for the Gods to assemble. We will call it the Garden of the Gods.” The name is not a translation of a Native American one. See why the name.
Was a dinosaur really found here?
Yes. A skull found in 1878 was named Theiophytalia kerri in 2006, and the park describes it as the only known specimen. The Visitor Center shows a replica cast; the original is at the Yale Peabody Museum. Details on the dinosaur.
How high is Pikes Peak, 14,110 or 14,115 ft?
14,115 ft is the current official figure; 14,110 ft is an older figure still printed on some signs. More on Pikes Peak or Garden of the Gods.
Other dates and options
More Garden of the Gods tours with live availability, for dates when the tours above are full.
Garden of the Gods, explained
Garden of the Gods is a free city park of about 1,341 acres in Colorado Springs, at about 6,400 ft. It has no entry ticket, so the six tours sold online are ways of moving through a park that anyone can visit on their own.
What the park is, and who owns it
The park belongs to the City of Colorado Springs, and the Garden of the Gods Foundation, a nonprofit, runs the Visitor & Nature Center. It has been a National Natural Landmark since 1971; it is not a national or state park. Charles Elliott Perkins bought 240 acres here in the 1870s and later 480. After his death in 1907, his children conveyed 480 acres to the city in 1909, on condition that the park remain free to the public. The city counts over 4 million visitors a year (City of Colorado Springs park page).
The name dates from 1859, when surveyors M. S. Beach and Rufus Cable came through. Cable is recorded as calling it “a fit place for the Gods to assemble”. The Ute Trail passes through the park. More on whether it is free, national park or not and the name.
How the red rocks got there
The rocks are layers of sediment laid down flat and tilted upright. The Fountain Formation dates from 320 to 300 million years ago, the Lyons Formation from 300 to 250 million years ago and the Lykins Formation from 260 to 250 million years ago, per the city’s geology packet. The Lyons layers form the tallest rocks in the park. The Laramide uplift, about 70 to 60 million years ago, stood the layers on end.

Named formations on the official park map include Cathedral Spires, the Three Graces, the Tower of Babel and the Kissing Camels on top of North Gateway Rock. Balanced Rock, of Fountain Formation sandstone, is reported at about 700 tons; photographer Paul Goerke owned the land around it until the city bought the property in 1932. In 1878 a dinosaur skull was found in the area, and in 2006 it was named Theiophytalia kerri, from Greek words for “belonging to the gods” and “garden”. The park describes it as the only known specimen; a replica cast is on show at the Visitor Center and the original is at the Yale Peabody Museum. More on the rock formations, Balanced Rock, the Kissing Camels and the dinosaur.
Walking and driving
The park has more than 20 miles of trail, listed on the park’s trail page. The Perkins Central Garden Trail is paved, 1.5 miles round trip with less than 30 ft of rise, and suits wheelchairs and strollers. The Siamese Twins Trail is a 1-mile round trip with less than 150 ft of rise, ending at a natural rock window that frames Pikes Peak. The Scotsman and Buckskin Charlie trails are moderate and rocky. Details on the hiking trails, the Central Garden trail, the Siamese Twins Trail and how hard it is.

The roads are one-way loops with paved bike lanes. The Garden Drive and Juniper Way loop is about 6 miles, with a 20 mph limit, and Visit COS gives 20 to 30 minutes for a drive straight through. Parking is free, but the Visitor Center lot has fewer than 200 spaces and often fills in summer; an overflow lot sits across Gateway Road (directions and parking page). In summer, two ADA-compliant 14-passenger vans run a free loop about every 15 minutes, roughly Memorial Day weekend to late August plus Labor Day weekend in recent years; check the shuttle page for this year’s dates. More on parking and the shuttle and how to get there.
Seasons and rules
The park opens at 5 am and closes at 9 pm from November 1 to April 30 and at 10 pm from May 1 to October 31. The park points to the hours before about 8 am and after about 4 pm for light and thinner crowds. Summer afternoon storms can form within minutes, and winter can leave ice on the trails. See the best time to visit.
Dogs are allowed on a leash of 6 ft maximum, alcohol is not, and off-trail travel is prohibited (park rules). Technical climbing needs a free permit from the city, obtained online, for parties of two or more and without chalk; bouldering or scrambling above 10 ft without proper equipment is illegal, and raptor-nesting closures apply to some rock faces at set times of year (city climbing page). More on dogs, the animals and rock climbing.
What is bookable
The six products on GetYourGuide sell the vehicle, the guide and, on some, places outside the park. Each listing states free cancellation up to 24 hours before for a full refund.
- Jeeps in the park. The foothills jeep tour runs 2.5 hours for up to 6 people and adds Helen Hunt Falls, the old Shortline Railroad grade, Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs. The luxury jeep tour runs 2 hours with photo stops and a walk on trails, with a private option, per its listing.
- Segway and e-bike. The Segway tour runs 1.5 hours from the Visitor Center for up to 5 riders aged 12 and up. The e-bike tour runs 2 hours from Manitou Springs, ages 13 to 80, and includes a visit to the Victorian Miramont Castle.
- With Pikes Peak. The Pikes Peak jeep tour takes 4 hours, climbs the 19-mile Pikes Peak Highway to the 14,115 ft summit and then drives through the park, with highway fees included. The Denver day tour takes 8.5 hours from the Colorado Convention Center, with lunch and entrance fees listed as included.

For a drive of its own, the city’s Pikes Peak Highway page gives the highway as 19 miles, open year-round weather permitting, with 2 to 3 hours for the round trip; in 2026, vehicles going past Mile 7 need a timed-entry permit from May 22 to September 30, and an admission fee applies. The six tours sit side by side on the tours page, the choice by group and pace on which tour, and the peak against the park on Pikes Peak or Garden of the Gods.
Frequently asked questions
Do you need to pay to go to Garden of the Gods?
No. Entry and parking are free, and so is the Visitor & Nature Center; the land was given to the city in 1909 on condition that it stay free to the public. Fees apply to extras such as the Geo-Trekker film and the ranger-led nature walk. Details on is it free.
What is the best way to see the Garden of the Gods?
It depends on the visit. A car covers the roughly 6-mile road loop in 20 to 30 minutes, the paved Perkins Central Garden Trail is a 1.5-mile walk, and the free summer shuttle links the Visitor Center and the Central Garden. The tours add a guide, a jeep, a Segway or an e-bike. The options are on the best way to see it.
What is the best Jeep tour at Garden of the Gods?
The two park jeep tours differ in scope. The foothills tour runs 2.5 hours for up to 6 people and adds Helen Hunt Falls, Old Colorado City and Manitou Springs; the luxury tour runs 2 hours with photo stops and a walk on trails, with a private option. A third jeep tour adds the Pikes Peak Highway. They are set out on the jeep tours page.
Is Garden of the Gods hard to walk?
The main trail is not. The Perkins Central Garden Trail is paved, 1.5 miles round trip, with less than 30 ft of rise, and suits wheelchairs and strollers. The Siamese Twins Trail is 1 mile with less than 150 ft; the Scotsman and Buckskin Charlie trails are moderate and rocky. More on how hard is it.
How long does it take to drive through Garden of the Gods?
About 20 to 30 minutes for the road loop without stops, per Visit COS, which gives 90 minutes to 2 hours for a typical visit. The speed limit is 20 mph throughout. See how long to drive through.
Is there a shuttle at Garden of the Gods?
In summer. Two ADA-compliant 14-passenger vans run a free loop about every 15 minutes, stopping at the Visitor & Nature Center, the Central Garden, Parking Lot 1/Overflow and the Rock Ledge Ranch entrance, roughly Memorial Day weekend to late August plus Labor Day weekend in recent years. Check gardenofgods.com for this year’s dates. More on parking and the shuttle.
Are there bathrooms at Garden of the Gods?
Yes: at the Visitor & Nature Center, at the North Main Parking Lot (Lot 2, opened in 2019), and a summer restroom at the Scotsman Picnic Area. See bathrooms.
Can you do Garden of the Gods in one day?
Yes. A typical visit takes 90 minutes to 2 hours, which leaves room in the same day for Manitou Springs next door or the Pikes Peak Highway, allowed 2 to 3 hours round trip by the city. A plan is on Garden of the Gods in one day.
When is the best time to go to Garden of the Gods?
The park points to early morning, before about 8 am, or late afternoon, after about 4 pm, for light and thinner crowds. Summer brings afternoon storms that can form within minutes, and winter can bring snow on the red rocks and icy trails. More on the best time to visit.
What animals live in Garden of the Gods?
The park lists bighorn sheep, mule deer, prairie rattlesnakes, black bears and coyotes, and birds including red-tailed hawks, prairie falcons, white-throated swifts and wild turkeys. See animals.
How do you get to Garden of the Gods without a car?
Mountain Metro Route 3 (Colorado Ave / Manitou) stops near the south side of the park; check Mountain Metro for the current route. In summer the free shuttle runs inside the park, and some tours list hotel pickup. Details on how to get there.
Is Garden of the Gods worth the drive from Denver?
The park is about 70 miles from Denver (Visit COS), about 1.5 hours via I-25 per the park. An 8.5-hour tour from Denver pairs it with the Pikes Peak summit. The trade-offs are on worth the drive from Denver.
Questions or corrections: [email protected]