EN▾
Home › Pikes Peak jeep tour

Pikes Peak by Jeep

The Pikes Peak Highway climbing in switchbacks above the tree line

In short: Pikes Peak and Garden of the Gods Jeep Tour lasts 4 hours in English, in a custom open-air jeep limited to 8 participants, with morning departures. According to its listing, it drives the 19-mile Pikes Peak Highway to the 14,115 ft summit, allows time at the top, then tours Garden of the Gods. Highway fees, heated rear seats, wool lap blankets and summit coats are included.

Pikes Peak4 hours by open-air jeepto 14,115 ftBook this
Meeting pointNext to Rudy's Little Hideaway restaurant
November to MarchGarden of the Gods Visitor Center
GroupLimited to 8
LanguageEnglish
VehicleCustom open-air jeep
Highway feesIncluded, per the listing
Wheelchair accessNot stated in the listing
Free cancellationUp to 24 hours before, per the listing

What it is

A guided jeep tour that pairs the summit of Pikes Peak with Garden of the Gods in one morning. The listing explains the morning departures by the views, the weather and the traffic. It keeps passengers warm on the way up with heated rear seats, wool lap blankets and summit parkas.

The tour, as the listing gives it

  1. Meeting point: next to Rudy's Little Hideaway restaurant, up a steep driveway; from November to March the listing names the Garden of the Gods Visitor Center. Arrive 15 minutes early.
  2. The Pikes Peak Highway: 19 miles to the summit.
  3. The summit: 14,115 ft, with time at the top. The Summit Visitor Center opened in June 2021.
  4. Garden of the Gods: a tour through the park on the way back.

What it adds to a free park

Garden of the Gods is free to enter, but the Pikes Peak Highway charges admission: Pikes Peak rises to 14,115 ft (14,110 ft is an older figure still seen on some signs). The Pikes Peak Highway is 19 miles long and open year-round, weather permitting, according to the city's Pikes Peak Highway page. In 2026, vehicles going past Mile 7 need a timed-entry permit from May 22 to September 30, as reported by the Gazette, and an admission fee applies. This listing includes highway fees; it does not mention the timed-entry permit, so that is a question for the booking. Katharine Lee Bates reached the summit in 1893, the trip that led to "America the Beautiful". What Pikes Peak costs explains how the fees work.

Who it suits, and who should look elsewhere

Suits

  • Visitors who want the summit of Pikes Peak and the park in 4 hours, without driving the highway themselves.
  • Visitors who want warm gear provided: the listing includes summit coats and wool lap blankets.
  • Small parties: the listing limits the jeep to 8.

Look elsewhere if

  • Pregnant women, people with respiratory issues or pre-existing medical conditions, and babies under 1: the listing states that it is not suitable. The Pikes Peak Highway's own health advice tells people with a history of severe heart or breathing problems not to go to the summit, and not to take infants under 6 months; who should not go up Pikes Peak sets it out.
  • Late risers: departures are in the morning and leave on time, with no refunds for missed tours, per the listing.
  • Anyone without transport to the meeting point: the listing does not include it. The day tour from Denver includes round-trip transport.

Included, and not stated

Included

  • Guide and custom open-air jeep
  • Heated rear seats
  • Wool lap blankets
  • Summit coats (parkas)
  • Emergency water and snacks
  • Highway fees

Not included or not stated

  • Transport to the meeting point
  • Meals
  • Timed-entry permit in season: not stated in the listing

What travellers mention

Kim from the United States mentions the Colorado history. Jerrold Dean from the United States describes an experienced, enthusiastic guide. Michael from the United States says the guide was informative the whole trip, and Karen from the United States mentions the stories, the historical facts and the views.

Practical notes

Start times: check the calendar in the booking widget. The tour departs on time and the listing gives no refunds for missed tours, so arriving 15 minutes early, as the listing asks, matters. The meeting point changes to the Visitor Center from November to March. Pikes Peak or Garden of the Gods sets the two places side by side.

Local tip

The summit stands at 14,115 ft and the park at about 6,400 ft; the listing includes summit coats for the top, even on a warm morning in town.

Check availability & book

Two alternatives

Garden of the Gods Tour is an independent guide. It is not the City of Colorado Springs, not the Garden of the Gods Visitor & Nature Center and not a tour operator, and it is not affiliated with any of the companies whose tours it describes. Park facts are taken from official sources; tour details come from each GetYourGuide listing. Booking links go to GetYourGuide and are affiliate links: a booking made through them may earn this site a small commission at no extra cost to the traveller. See the affiliate disclosure.

Frequently asked questions

Are the Pikes Peak Highway fees included on the jeep tour?

Yes. The listing includes highway fees. It does not mention the 2026 timed-entry permit for vehicles passing Mile 7, so confirm that when booking.

Where does the Pikes Peak jeep tour meet?

Next to Rudy's Little Hideaway restaurant, up a steep driveway, according to the listing. From November to March the listing names the Garden of the Gods Visitor Center. It asks travellers to arrive 15 minutes early.

Who should not take the Pikes Peak jeep tour?

The listing states that it is not suitable for pregnant women, people with respiratory issues or pre-existing medical conditions, or babies under 1. Who should not go up Pikes Peak adds the highway's own health advice.

Does the Pikes Peak jeep tour run in winter?

The listing gives a winter meeting point at the Visitor Center from November to March. The Pikes Peak Highway is open year-round, weather permitting, per the city.